2018 Online Journalism Awards winners include The Washington Post, The Marshall Project and Reveal from the Center for Investigative Reporting

World News: . []

AUSTIN, Texas, Sept. 16, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Superlative reporting on gun violence, government accountability and endangered wildlife led coverage that garnered top honors for 28 media organizations Saturday night at the , which closed the Online News Association Conference.

At the 18th annual awards dinner, , and each took home a $5,000 General Excellence in Online Journalism award, courtesy of the Gannett Foundation. and were named winners of the new Micro newsroom category of the General Excellence award, sponsored by the Democracy Fund. The $15,000 University of Florida Awards for Investigative Data Journalism were won by and ’s “Walking While Black” and for “Bussed Out: How America Moves its Homeless.”

The Knight Award for Public Service, with a $5,000 prize from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, went to for “All Work. No Pay.” won the $5,000 Gannett Foundation Award for Technical Innovation in the Service of Digital Journalism for its automated transcription tool. , and were recognized in the Breaking News categories.

Two new award categories were added this year. The award for Excellence in Collaboration and Partnerships recognizes newsrooms and companies who have formed partnerships or collaborations to cover a topic or story with a digital focus. , and shared the Excellence in Collaboration and Partnerships award for their impressive reporting in “Verificado 2018.” The ONA Community Award celebrates an individual whose contributions have transformed digital journalism, particularly by creating the kind of environment that inspires and enables journalists to do their best work. OpenNews Director is the inaugural recipient of the ONA Community Award.

ONA also honored documentary photographer and freelance photojournalist as the recipient of the 2018 James Foley Award for Conflict Reporting for her powerful coverage of social issues and conflict in the Middle East, Asia and Africa, and her work as a dedicated advocate for freelancers’ rights and safety. Former ONA Executive Director was honored with the 2018 Rich Jaroslovsky Founder Award for her outstanding leadership, commitment to promoting excellence in digital journalism and dedication to the Online News Association.

The event was emceed by host of NPR Illinois’ The 21st, , along with several special presenters. In total, 35 awards were given out, with prize money totalling $58,500.Here are the :

The awards ceremony, which was live-streamed directly from the JW Marriott Austin, is available at .

A group of 132 industry-leading journalists and new media professionals, led by ONA Board members and OJA Co-Chairs P. Kim Bui and David Smydra, teamed up to screen entrants and select finalists. Over 25 judges, representing a diverse cross-section of the industry, then conferred to determine winners from independent, community, nonprofit, major media, start-up and international news sites.

Launched in 2000, the OJAs are administered by ONA and are the only comprehensive set of journalism prizes honoring excellence in digital journalism, focusing on independent, community, nonprofit, major media and international news sites.

Contact: Online News Association, awards@journalists.org

More news and information about Online News Association

Published By:

Globe Newswire: 05:01 GMT Sunday 16th September 2018

Published: .

Search for other references to "2018" on SPi News


Previous StoryNext Story

SPi News is published by Sector Publishing Intelligence Ltd.
© Sector Publishing Intelligence Ltd 2018. [Admin Only]
Sector Publishing Intelligence Ltd.
Agriculture House, Acland Road, DORCHESTER, Dorset DT1 1EF United Kingdom
Registered in England and Wales number 0751938.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Contact Us