UPDATE: 2019 Gerald Loeb Award Finalists, Career Achievement Honorees and Date of Awards Banquet in New York City Announced by UCLA Anderson

World News: . []

LOS ANGELES, May 17, 2019 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Alfred E. Osborne, Jr., chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation Inc. and interim dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management, has announced the finalists for the 2019 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism. He also announced the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award.

The Gerald Loeb Awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton. In 1973, Loeb appointed UCLA Anderson the steward of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation. The Gerald Loeb Awards were created to encourage and support reporting on business and finance that will inform and protect the private investor and the general public. The awards are considered the highest honor in business journalism in the United States.

The recipient is, associate editor and chief economics commentator at the , London. Wolf was educated at Oxford University. Before starting his journalism career in 1987 at the , he was a senior economist at the World Bank and director of studies at the Trade Policy Research Centre, in London. He was awarded the CBE (Commander of the British Empire) in 2000 for services to financial journalism and is a member of the International Media Council of the World Economic Forum. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a journalist whose career exemplifies the consistent, superior insight and professional skills necessary to further the understanding of business, financial and economic issues.

The Tyler Mathisen, co-anchor of CNBC’s Power Lunch, will be the host of this year’s show. Additional presenters from television news will be announced in the coming weeks via on Twitter. This event is attended by many of the country’s most influential journalists, editors, publishers, producers, and media personalities. Wolf and Miller will receive their career achievement awards at the banquet and this year’s winners in the 12 competition categories will also be announced.

The following were chosen from more than 475 entries submitted in all mediums by local, regional and national outlets and individual journalists:

The Dean of UCLA Anderson chairs The Gerald Loeb Awards’ final judging committee of leading journalists, news executives and academics. The foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that operates primarily from sponsorship and private support. For more information about the awards, please visit , email or call (310) 825-4478.

Media Contact:Jonathan Daillak, (310) 825-4478

A video accompanying this announcement is available at

More news and information about UCLA Anderson School of Management

Published By:

Globe Newswire: 21:55 GMT Friday 17th May 2019

Published: .

Search for other references to "update" on SPi News


Previous StoryNext Story

SPi News is published by Sector Publishing Intelligence Ltd.
© Sector Publishing Intelligence Ltd 2019. [Admin Only]
Sector Publishing Intelligence Ltd.
Agriculture House, Acland Road, DORCHESTER, Dorset DT1 1EF United Kingdom
Registered in England and Wales number 07519380.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Contact Us